Thank you, North Epping Bendigo Community Bank …

Some time ago the library knitting group that I belong to applied for a grant from the local branch of the Bendigo Community Bank. Last year we received $500 to buy wool for the rugs we knit for Wrap With Love and it was with much excitement that we learnt that we have been awarded another grant of $500 for the 2010 – 2011 knitting year!

We appreciate these grants very much as we rely on donated wool, some of which is unsuitable for our needs, and some of which needs to be washed before it can be used – a rather big job that falls to me. Having said that, the knitting yarn that is donated by members of the public and a number of generous fellow knitters from Ravelry is also much appreciated. Quite a few of the women in our group are on limited incomes and these donations allow them to knit rugs that they would otherwise be unable to. For all of us, it allows us to produce rugs in numbers that we could otherwise not achieve.

So a big thank you to Bendigo Bank at North Epping. I urge you to investigate the concept of community banking that Bendigo offers – it is a great banking model and serves many communities that would otherwise be “bankless” as the big four withdraw and downsize their services, in the city as well as the country. The more I learn about it, the more impressed I am. Now all I have to do is to persuade Grandpa Flea to change our accounts over – he’s a man of fixed habits but I’m working on it ……

2 responses to “Thank you, North Epping Bendigo Community Bank …

  1. How lovely for your group and great community spirit from the bank.

    I will hopefully be buying a place for myself in the new year and moving. I’m planning ongoing through my yarn then. I can’t do it now as much of it is packed away where I can’t get at it easily.

    Could you post a comment here about what you are looking for? I’ll gladly donate some if I have what is suitable but need to know your guidelines and it may not be for several months. That is of course, if what I have is suitable.

  2. Hi Jan,
    Thanks for your comment – it IS great community spirit from the bank. I’m really impressed with the whole concept of community banking. I know that for some smaller country communities where the Big 4 have withdrawn their services, the Bendigo Community Bank has solved so many problems of access to banking services. Its success lies in the fact that the bank can’t be started until a certain number of ?local people are prepared to buy shares – these people then share in the capped dividend – another great form of a community caring for others – and the surplus profits after expenses are given back to the community in the form of sponsorships and grants. Why aren’t there more in the cities, I wonder? We bank with the NAB (until I can convince my husband to do otherwise) and since they closed the Pennant Hills branch, our nearest branches are Castle Hill and Hornsby – not very convenient at all.

    If you do have yarn to spare when you move, we are always grateful for donations. We never turn anything away – what we can’t use eg lace weight yarn, 3 ply etc , we will pass on to St Vinnies or the people who knit to raise funds for our local youth outreach centre, “The Shack” – however there are some of us in the group who will knit with two different plies together to approximate an 8 ply, our preferred ply.

    If you find that you have some to spare, get in contact with me either through these comments, or by the email address grandmafleaATgmailDOTcom.

    Good luck with your purchase – it’s exciting moving into your own home – and a very happy Christmas and New Year to you and yours.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

