Essential knowledge …

Browsing through some old crochet books, I came across this little gem in The Weekly Times Crochet Book:

Motherhood and its Responsibilities

All this done at a time when women had few if any of the conveniences of life that we take for granted. It brings back memories of my mother crocheting in a silken thread around the edges of hug-me-tights for my baby brother.

When I was expecting my first child, I made Viyella baby nightdresses and bunny rugs bought as kits from “The Stitchery” in the city. Crocheted edges and grub roses were the order of the day – not skills that I’m over-endowed with. But, thank heavens! Bonds brought out the all-in-one stretchy baby suit and my baby was saved from a badly embroidered future!

Leave a Reply

