Encycopedia of Me Meme . . Q is for ….

Q is for Quokka – a small Australian wallaby for which Rottnest Island is famous. (Rottnest is a small island off the coast of Fremantle, near Perth, in Western Australia) Rottnest Island was named by Dutch explorers and means “rats’ nest” as they mistook the tiny quokkas for rats.

Q is also for quandong – an Australian tree with an edible berry used as “bush tucker”. Bush tucker is food gathered from native Australian flora and fauna as eaten by the Aboriginal people. Some bush tucker has become popular with more adventurous chefs – I have seen wattle seed ice-cream, quandong jam (as made by our son), pepper berry seasoning, lilli-pilli jelly to name a few. The Macquarie Dictionary, Australia’s national dictionary, notes that the word quandong is a colloquialism for a “person who exploits or cadges off another”, with another obsolete colloquial meaning of a ” a stupid person, a country bumpkin”. Apparently another obsolete colloquialism is to “have the quandongs” or, in modern speak, “to be stupid”. Now, I may be a quandong, but I’ve NEVER, EVER heard the word quandong used for a person of an exploitative, or cadging nature – although The Macquarie Dictionay may feel that I’m a living example (albeit obsolete!) for using their definitions when I could make up my own!!!! In my view, “quandong” would be perfect for those days when you’re all at sixes and sevens – “I’ve got the quandongs” – without any of the perjorative meaning of stupid attached. In fact, henceforth this blog will use its own definition of “quandong” when appropriate!

Roxie was very taken with ” don’t come the raw prawn with me” – so now I expect to see her “having the quandongs” occasionally and we shall all know that she is using “flea speak” (two invented concepts in one day – I’m firing!)

Q is also for Queen – I am a staunch republican and believe that in this day and age it is ridiculous for Australia to remain a colonial outpost, with a head of state across the sea, in a country that bears little resemblance to our own, despite our shared history. Bring on the Republic of Oz is what I say!!!

6 responses to “Encycopedia of Me Meme . . Q is for ….

  1. As a fan of Scrabble, I am deeply grateful for Quokka and Quandong. These are words that could blow the competition out of the water. Thank you!!

  2. Oh good! I’m a Scrabble fan too and I will pocket quokka or quandong for future reference. Did you know that English has no words with q that do not have a u after it? I actually teach my students that and when they see q on a flash card they say q-u. I want to ask too about the word “godown”; is it a shed or storage room?

  3. I’ve never heard Quandong used in that sense.But I get ‘the quandongs’ all the time 🙂

  4. I wondered what you would use for “Q”, clever Granma Flea. PS brave move ragging the Queen. Yes I agree with you, the day is gone when she was relevant to Australia, but she is still a nice figure head. Somehow, can’t quite put Jeanette H. in the same class, no matter how hard I try. But heaven help us if/when Charley comes to the throne with the lady Camilla in tow, bring on the republic, or hope for a Princess Anne overthrow of her big brother.

  5. I’m enjoying your encyclopaedia/encyclopedia. The flea references crack me up!

  6. Found you via the Meme. I’m really enjoying your entries!

Leave a Reply

