H is for Hoosier …

I had wondered what Hoosier meant, but found out when this package of goodies arrived at my door from Kathy of Indiana, winner of the prize from the knitting trip around the world on the magic shawl. But where does the word “Hoosier” come from?

I can’t wait to try the sweet and sour popcorn, but thought I’d keep it until the biggest Flea comes over again, as she had a year in Atlanta as an exchange student and is still very interested in things from the USA. The wool from an Indiana sheep, no less, feels soft and lovely and I feel a beanie coming on for Master 7 – one with earflaps and pom pom trims in the two natural colours. My fingers have all split from too much getting-the-house-ready-to-move -. I seem to be washing my hands all day long, so I’ll be interested to see if the lanolin soap helps – it smells beautiful. But wait, there’s more! The James Whitcomb Riley Cookbook, described on the cover as “A cornucopia of delectable delights from the turn-of-the-century world and the great Hoosier poet AND MORE”. “AND MORE” is piles of information and illustrations from the “olden days”. Wonderful! Thank you so much, Kathy. I am so lucky. I’ll have to have a few more competitions if I receive wonderful goodies like these in return! I really enjoyed the knitting trip around the world, and we might repeat it again one day.

If you get a chance, pop over to Kathy’s blog and look at the socks she knitted from the sock wool in her possum parcel. She calls them a “Homage to the possum”! They are so pretty – a wonderful match of colour and pattern.

There must be a flea plague in the northern hemisphere at present – I seem to be getting LOTS of hits from Google seaches for pictures and information on flea-bites.

Being a non-technical nerd, when Ravelry started asking for Beta Testers, I assumed that BTs would be technical wizardy type people (maybe you are!) but as people started to fret about being thousands down the list, I thought I’d sign up too – the worst they could do was reject me. So slowly, ever so slowly, I’m making my way up the waiting list – it sounds almost as long as the waiting list for elective surgery in this crazy country of ours.

You signed up on July 20, 2007
You are #18956 on the list.
10335 people are ahead of you in line.
5461 people are behind you in line.
34% of the list has been invited so far

One day ….. I’ll find out what it’s all about!

Leave a Reply

