Is that knitting content??!!


Oh yes – at last. I have at last finished the Noro Eloise cardi for the oldest Flea – this will no doubt elicit many rude words from youngest Flea Katie, and her partner FiFi who will remind me of the Jo Sharp jumper I started for FiFi some years ago – it was a wide loose fitting style, but FiFi wanted it much shorter with longer sleeves. It languished half done for months because I couldn’t bring myself to make it shorter when all the cold air would just circulate up the body – when I eventualy checked the fitting, it was too big (in MHO) so despite FiFi’s protestations, I frogged it – then reknitted it – and it was too small – so I gave it to my DIL. Every time I see Katie & FiFi they give me stick! When I mentioned this to eldest daughter, she reminded me that she’s been waiting for a handknit for longer than we have known FiFi …… still, I MUST do the FiFi jumper – I just don’t think I can face that Jo Sharp pattern again – it was a pain to knit. Mmmm – maybe I feel another Eloise coming on in a different colour.

Eldest daughter’s Eloise is longer than the pattern – I humoured her on this despite my reservations. I used knitting in elastic with the yarn because my own Eloise has stretched so much – the fact that I have worn it nearly every day for the last 10 months hasn’t helped! Originally I was just going to put it in the ribbed part, but decided to do it all over as my own was getting bigger by the day. The elastic made the fabric much firmer and denser, but I like it.

Last weekend while the 11 year old little Flea was here she spotted a scarf at Cherryhills and wanted one – that instant – BUT (why do my family always want variations?) she wanted pockets at each end for her hands. The yarn is Funky Fur (or some similar name) and the scarf was done on 10mm needles, so the pockets stretched when sewn up and I had to gather the tops in, but it should do the trick. Ms 11 has just read Roxie’s book – Sanna, Sorceress Apprentice. She loved it, and can’t wait for the next in the series. I loved it too – Roxie writes very well (and I’m very critical), and it is a delightful story incorporating Roxie’s love of knitting. Apart from nagging me to ask Roxie to give her a pre-release version of the book (which I declined to do, as I want to buy her one for Christmas so she can have a matched set – and I also want to support Roxie’s foray into the world of publishing), Ms 11 was very keen for me to knit her a pair of self heating mittens, the pattern for which is in the book. Unfortunately, I flunked out of sorceress school, apart from a low grade in ESP, so I can do the mittens (if I ever get the book back – it’s been reread at least once) but can’t do the self-heating part. She also has a yen for a bag that is bigger on the inside than the outside – you can see it hanging from Sanna’s waist on the cover of the book. I must admit to a hankering for one of those too! Guess I’ll have to go back to sorceress school! I asked Ms 11 to do a book review – here it is as left on the voice mail:

“Hi Grandma – and Pa – can’t forget about you, Pa – just calling and here’s my book review. I finished it in 2 days which is a new record for that sort of book, Grandma. And here’s my book review. It was funny, romantic and very obvious that the writer is also a knitter. I couldn’t put it down and I can’t wait for the next one, however I think the ending was a bit short and that it didn’t finish well – it could go on a bit longer and I never found out what happened to that cape, unless I skipped some. Would you please knit me a pair of self heating mittens, thank you. That’s what I’ve written down on a piece of paper, but I still stand by that the ending was very, very short. He arrives and then he just says some stuff and he leaves. And then you’re sort of left with the impression that the horse is just standing there and you want the book to go on. So, all in all, I think it depends on the sort of 11 year old reader. If it’s someone who’s into books, they’d enjoy it. And if it’s someone who really isn’t into books and more into, like, magic and sorcery, they should also enjoy it, but if it was someone who wasn’t into things like that, they should also enjoy it. I keep laughing when I think of the power gem in Sanna’s mouth, with the two chains coming out of her mouth. ” (There is more, but I have mislaid the piece of paper I transcribed it on. I will post it, Roxie, as soon as I find it.)

I have explained to Ms 11, that books with sequels always leave you wanting more – but she still wants the contents of the NEXT book, in this one! I think you have a hit on your hands here, Roxie.

CORRECTION
I said in my last post that the glider possum was a squirrel possum glider, but after talking to the Council’s wildlife officer today, and checking the internet again, I realise it is a sugar glider.

I’m doing a workshop at Cherryhills on Sunday with Lynne Johnson – I’m really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

