Day Two – Local Yarn Store (unabashed plug)

After an hour at the gym, trying to undo a month’s solid eating before I see the dietician again, I called in to see Sue at my LYS. I worked there at one time and still spend a few hours there each week, yarning! and drinking coffee.

I wanted to show her my “2007 Calendar, Knitting -All New Knits by Paulette Lane & Friends”. It’s really nifty. If you haven’t seen it, it’s half price at Borders and Myer (Australia) at the moment and it is fun. A small (??) project for each day of the year and the box opens up to a page per day and is supported at an angle by it’s lid – in front of me now as I type. (It also has blank calendar pages to record important dates – in my case BIRTHDAYS – I still owe Flea No. 3 (birthday September) and her partner (birthday October) part of their birthday presents.) The smaller projects will be handy as I knit for a fund-raising group which raises money for the local youth outreach centre. It’s a thankless task in many ways as often people won’t pay a price that even covers the cost of the raw materials. Fortunately we get a lot of yarn donated – quite often in the form of half-knitted jumpers that ?cats have been sleeping on!! -I’ve given up trying to use those and dip into my stash. Last year Sue of LYS fame gave me two large garbage bags of quality, novelty yarns that one of the reps didn’t need anymore – I was tempted to empty them into the bath and roll in them! but discretion prevailed.

I’m already planning to knit the Day 1 project, a ruffled scarf, but need to disgorge the contents of the cupboard under the house where most of my stash is hiding while we’re “open for inspection” so I can find the angora that I bought in a moment of madness on a holiday in Tasmania about 5 years ago. With a bit of luck the moths won’t have found it.

For those of you who live in Sydney, my LYS is called “Cherryhills”. It’s at Pennant Hills – located next to Vital Health Gym (not the one I go to) in a little arcade that runs between Pennant Hills Road and the carpark behind. Strangely enough its address is Shop 6, The Arcade, Pennant Hills. Phone & Fax (02) 9484 0212. It is a great shop with heaps of imported yarns as well as the usual suspects. I have to admit to a lot of self-interest here – unless we patronise our local stores, they will close – we’ve already had one close in my suburb and another close a few suburbs away. And Lyncraft, another chain of craft stores that used to be in the local malls has also turned up its toes. For me, going to a yarn store is like visiting a book store – I love to see the colours, feel the textures (smell the new pages in bookshops) and spend hours browsing even if I don’t intend to buy. The internet can never replace that.

We’re off to the movies tonight to see “A Prairie Homecoming” or some name like that and because it doesn’t start until 9.15 in a suburb quite a distance from here, we are having a rare treat of a meal out. We know that if we eat here we won’t feel like going out – I’ll have to remember that trick for future use! When Grandpa Flea retired about 5 years ago we intended to go to the movies once a week – but we can count our actual movie experiences on the fingers of one hand! (videos/DVDs don’t count – in any case we’d only need half a hand for those).

Happy knitting.

Leave a Reply

